The Redhill Academy believes that you should have high quality, independent careers guidance to encourage you to be aspirational and well informed when making educational and career decisions. Our Careers Programme contains a wide range of activities to help develop curiosity and confidence, allowing you to work towards a positive and fulfilling career.

page break

Mrs H Morris

Careers & Aspirations Manager

Email: h.morris@redhillacademytrust.org.uk      Tel: 0115 9261481

OUR CAREERS PROGRAMME

Our Careers Programme can be viewed here but you can expect the kinds of activities and opportunities listed below:

  • PSHE units which look at a variety of careers related topics
  • Themed weeks such as National Careers Week which provides you with a range of talks, activities and virtual resources
  • Regular updates on opportunities via Twitter and Satchel One
  • Access to the online careers platform Unifrog
  • Careers Assemblies
  • Access to specialist advice via group or 1:1 Careers Appointments
  • Chance to meet external speakers from the world of work, Further and Higher Education, some of whom are Redhill alumni!
  • Drop-in information, advice and application support
  • Trips to Higher Education institutions and workplace visits

These sites will help you to explore a range of different options open to you as you get older:

Informed Choices – www.informedchoices.ac.uk

Get the Jump: Skills for Life – nationalcareers.service.gov.uk

BBC Bitesize – www.bbc.co.uk/careers

MY PATH – Careers Videos – www.youtube.com/mypath

Apprenticeship Resource Hub – www.apprenticeships.gov.uk

Amazing Apprenticeships – amazingapprenticeships.com

Apprenticeship Standards Website – www.instituteforapprenticeships.org

Apprenticeship Occupational Maps – www.instituteforapprenticeships.org

How to prepare for a careers appointment – www.youtube.com/prepare

You have access to a number of resources to help you explore careers. See below for the Careerometer and Skillsometer tools, as well as links to other websites including Unifrog which is our online careers platform.

Careerometer

Skillsometer

Unifrog

Sign in page is here – www.unifrog.org/sign-in

Need to reset your password? Enter your username here (this is your school email address) www.unifrog.org/reset-password

Access quizzes, careers libraries, know-how guides and search tools.

The Buzz Quiz

Link here to a fun way to explore careers – which animal are you? www.ucas.com/careers/buzzquiz

SACU-Student – sacu-student.com

Why not create a login and try their Careers Quiz which generates a word cloud of careers, courses or apprenticeship roles?

Here are some further links that provide Labour Market Information (LMI)

The D2N2 Start Profile provides access to regional labour market information – d2n2.startprofile.com/page/d2n2-area-overview

Redhill also has a Careers Twitter feed @rhafutures which tweets and retweets relevant information and advice

National Careers Service Job Profiles – nationalcareers.service.gov.uk

icould – icould.com

Prospects – www.prospects.ac.uk

Sector specific sites

Law – www.lawcareers.net

NHS – www.healthcareers.nhs.uk

Medic Mentor – medicmentor.co.uk

Social Care – care4notts.org

Construction – www.goconstruct.org

Electrical Careers – www.electricalcareers.co.uk

*Please contact me if you need signposting to other sectors!